Fiction

Midnight in Berlin

Midnight in Berlin

Berlin in the spring of 1939. Hitler is preparing for war. Colonel Noel Macrae, a British diplomat, plans the ultimate sacrifice to stop him. The West’s appeasement policies have failed. There...

Karolina's Twins

Karolina's Twins

From the author of Once We Were Brothers comes a saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II.

The Two-Family House

The Two-Family House

A moving and evocative debut set in a two-family brownstone in 1950s Brooklyn, unraveling a multigenerational story woven around a deeply buried family secret.

The Imperial Wife

The Imperial Wife

"The Imperial Wife is a smart, engaging novel that parallels two fascinating worlds and two singular women. Irina Reyn writes beautifully of immigrants, art and the vagaries of love."
--Jess...

The Yid

The Yid

A DEBUT NOVEL OF DARING ORIGINALITY, THE YID GUARANTEES THAT YOU WILL NEVER THINK OF STALINIST RUSSIA, SHAKESPEARE, THEATER, YIDDISH, OR HISTORY THE SAME WAY AGAIN

Moscow, February...

The Dinner Party

The Dinner Party

This Passover Seder is not just any Passover Seder. Yes, there will be a quick service and then a festive meal afterwards, but this night is different from all other nights. This will be the night...

HHhH

HHhH

"HHhH blew me away... It's one of the best historical novels I've ever come across."—Bret Easton Ellis, author of American Psycho and Less Than Zero

Invisible City

Invisible City

A finalist for the Edgar and Mary Higgins Clark Awards, in her riveting debut Invisible City, journalist Julia Dahl introduces a compelling new character in search of the truth about a murder...

The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem

The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem

Finalist for the Book Club category of the 2016 National Jewish Book Awards.

The #1 International Best Seller, The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem is a dazzling...

The One Man

The One Man

In this riveting historical thriller from New York Times bestselling author Andrew Gross, a US intelligence officer is sent into Auschwitz to help one man escape.

The Secret Book of Kings

The Secret Book of Kings

“This volume, by Biblical scholar Yochi Brandes, is a riveting novel based on textual sources about the experiences of David and Solomon. Its lessons are also relevant for our turbulent time.”...

The Nightingale

The Nightingale

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author comes an epic novel of love and war, spanning from the 1940s to the present day, and the secret lives of those who live in a small French town.

Saving Sophie

Saving Sophie

From the author of Once We Were Brothers, Liam and Catherine team up again to investigate an embezzlement case, and discover a link between their prime suspect, a kidnapping, and a terrorist cell

The Collected Stories of Isaac Bashevis Singer

The Collected Stories of Isaac Bashevis Singer

The forty-seven stories in this collection, selected by Singer himself out of nearly one hundred and fifty, range from the publication of his now-classic first collection, Gimpel the Fool,...

Run You Down

Run You Down

Aviva Kagan was just a teenager when she left her Hasidic Jewish life in Brooklyn for a fling with a smiling college boy from Florida-and then disappeared. Twenty-three years later, the child...

The Ice Queen

The Ice Queen

The body of 92-year-old Jossi Goldberg, Holocaust survivor and American citizen, is found shot to death execution style in his house near Frankfurt. A five-digit number is scrawled in blood at the...

Game of Queens

Game of Queens

For fans of The Red Tent and The Dovekeepers, India Edghill breathes new life into the biblical story of Vashti and Esther with her signature historical richness, epic scope, and sweeping...

Here I Am

Here I Am

Instant New York Times Bestseller
A New York Times Notable Book of 2016
A Time Magazine Top 10 Novel of 2016
A Times Literary...

The Chosen Ones

The Chosen Ones

The Am Spiegelgrund clinic, in glittering Vienna, masqueraded as a well-intentioned reform school for wayward boys and girls and a home for chronically ill children. The reality, however, was very...

The Last Flight of Poxl West

The Last Flight of Poxl West

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE
NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER
WINNER OF THE 2015 NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD /JJ...

The Debt of Tamar

The Debt of Tamar

A USA TODAY Best seller!

Bestselling author Nicole Dweck brings to life one of history's greatest yet overlooked stories of love and resilience.

The Devil in Jerusalem

The Devil in Jerusalem

From the international bestselling author of The Tenth Song comes a riveting new novel about a young mother and her family who come under the thrall of one man and his dark, secret sect, setting in motion a horrific chain of events.

The Assistant

The Assistant

The Assistant, Bernard Malamud's second novel, originally published in 1957, is the story of Morris Bober, a grocer in postwar Brooklyn, who "wants better" for himself and his family. First...

The Covenant

The Covenant

Living in terror-torn Jerusalem, Elise Margulies constantly fears for the safety of her loved ones. Confined to bedrest during a difficult pregnancy, she happily awaits the return of her husband...

The Exiles Return

The Exiles Return

WITH A FOREWORD BY EDMUND DE WAAL, AUTHOR OF THE HARE WITH AMBER EYES

SET IN THE ASHES OF POST–SECOND WORLD WAR VIENNA, A POWERFUL, SUBTLE NOVEL OF EXILES RETURNING...

The Ghost of Hannah Mendes

The Ghost of Hannah Mendes

When Catherine da Costa, a wealthy Manhattan matron, learns she has only a short time to live, she realizes that her family tree will die unless she passes on its legacy and traditions to her granddaughters....

The Girl on the Fridge

The Girl on the Fridge

A birthday-party magician whose hat tricks end in horror and gore; a girl parented by a major household appliance; the possessor of the lowest IQ in the Mossad—such are the denizens of Etgar Keret's...

Jacob's Oath

Jacob's Oath

As World War II winds to a close, Europe's roads are clogged with twenty million exhausted refugees walking home. Among them are Jacob and Sarah, lonely Holocaust survivors who meet in Heidelberg....

The Last Jew

The Last Jew

In the year 1492, the Inquisition has all of Spain in its grip. After centuries of pogrom-like riots encouraged by the Church, the Jews - who have been an important part of Spanish life since the...

The Nimrod Flipout

The Nimrod Flipout

From Israel's most popular and acclaimed young writer—"Stories that are short, strange, funny, deceptively casual in tone and affect, stories that sound like a joke but aren't" (Yann Martel,...

Once We Were Brothers

Once We Were Brothers

The gripping tale about two boys, once as close as brothers, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust

The Saturday Wife

The Saturday Wife

With more than half a million copies of her novels sold, Naomi Ragen has connected with the hearts of readers as well as reviewers who have met her work with unanimous praise. In The Saturday...

The Sound of Our Steps

The Sound of Our Steps


Gorgeously observed and emotionally powerful, The Sound of Our Steps is an inventive novel of immigration and exile from Ronit Matalon, a major voice in contemporary Israeli...

Suddenly, a Knock on the Door

Suddenly, a Knock on the Door

Bringing up a child, lying to the boss, placing an order in a fast-food restaurant: in Etgar Keret's new collection, daily life is complicated, dangerous, and full of yearning. In his most playful...

The Sisters Weiss

The Sisters Weiss

In 1950's Brooklyn, sisters Rose and Pearl Weiss grow up in a loving but strict ultra-Orthodox Jewish family, never dreaming of defying their parents or their community's unbending and intrusive...